Bookmark Topics – a Window into the Soul?


From October on I had one problem or another involving my computer. First, it was a couple of months before we could line up an internet connection that we wanted, one without cable, satellite, landline or other gizmo to complicate our lives! We got AT&T, with which we are quite pleased. We have wireless through the phone lines – without a phone line. Totally rad!

Secondly, my laptop (which is actually a netbook and close to being the electronic love of my life…) was unlucky enough to score a virus – even though I have virus protection and a husband that is really savvy about computers. Eventually we saved all my files, but we forgot to save my bookmarks before we purged and reset to factory condition. No one’s fault – neither of us even thought about it!

So… I had to start over again. As the last month has evolved, I have changed browsers (from Firefox to Google Chrome) and learned how to use it. And, I have created a new set of bookmark folders. Every time I want to bookmark a page it goes in a specific folder. I seem to have changed a bit in what I want to save, and how the bookmark folders are laid out and configured.  So I figure the virus was a virus geared not really to destroy my computer, but to move me from 2011 to 2012 and open my mind up to the possibilities of a new year.

My folders are delineated thusly:

  • Blogs
  • Books
  • Crafts (crochet, craft ideas, craft products, sewing, kids crafts and Silhouette Cameo are the sub folders in that file set)
  • Feminism (Spiritual as a sub folder)
  • Organizational (as in “getting organized”)
  • Poultry (because I want chickens and ducks this Spring!)
  • Professional (SCBR and Bobby as sub folders – my current professional projects; Story Circle Book Reviews and Robert F. Bradford, whose stories and plays I am working on getting published)
  • Recipes
  • Study (topics that have attracted me in the new year… So far, Urban Homesteading,  Green Festivals in California, Sabermetrics and the philosophy of Finding Time)
  • Wish List (things for home, mostly electronic, that I want… soon, or maybe… later?)

Statue of Psyche by Bertel-Thorvaldsen

Looking through my bookmarks gives a deep look into me…my psyche, my interests, what enthuses me, interests  me, intrigues me and motivates me into learning new things, approach new topics and continually pursue enrichment. It isn’t because I want a college degree, or to enter quilt contests, sell expensive handcrafts or become a speaker on behalf of feminism, spirituality, sabermetrics, chicken breeds or anything else. I do it because I can. Because I enjoy it. Because it stimulates me, and provides me with outlets that make me, perhaps not a better person, but a more evolved and interesting one.

Our time here, our human life span, is short. My absorption of learning, new experiences, reading, writing,  researching, allow me to grow. So… yes, my bookmarking system reflects not only who I am, but who I would like to become. Is it perhaps time for my readers to evaluate their own bookmarks? Their filing systems, their own  feelings and sentiments about what they enjoy, seek out and are enriched by?

About ReaderWoman

Professional reader and researcher for writers - Reviewer and Editor for online book review sites - AVID reader (well, duh!) writer, crafter (sewing, jewelry, fiber art) photographer, herb gardener, love to learn new things - Married 3842 years, 2 "kids" (now 34 and 36) and two grands (13 and 15) Born and raised California Girl, with stints in Tennessee, learning to speak Southern, and Arizona, learning that living in a trailer is NOT fun! Enjoy conversations with wine and chocolate, long walks and being with hubby and family. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Life is What Happens..., Personal Ramblings, ~ @ Random ~, ~ Renew ~ and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bookmark Topics – a Window into the Soul?

  1. OH MY! I went ahead and did this myself! And here’s what I came up with:
    Etsy, guns, bows, crafts, recipes, homesteading,health, knitting, outdoors,pets, Kinda makes me think! LOL

    As far as the wish list goes, try amazon’s wish list tool! That’s what I have! It lets you install a little thingee (I don’t know, it’s magic I guess LOL) on your web browser that allows you to add ANYTHING from ANY SITE on your amazon wish list. So it’s all in one little place. From there you can then break up your items into separate wish lists if you so choose. It’s really cool and also helps when the whole “what do you want for xmas/birthday” thing starts!

    • ReaderWoman says:

      Wow – thanks for the Amazon reminder – I used to have it, and forgot all about it! For anyone else reading this – here’s the link! http://www.amazon.com/wishlist/universal Scroll down and see the list of browsers for the app for your system.

      NOW – as far as your list of folders – GUNS? right between ETSY and bows… hmmmmm.

  2. I just tried to reply and your page deleted my post LOL!

    I do like guns, though I’m mostly a range shooter. I like the target practice and I’ve always been fascinated by how they work.

    Bows, same deal. I’m a compound bow lover. I have a target in my yard. That’s mostly what I do with it, I’m not a hunting enthusiast by any means at all, I enjoy the archery. My view on hunting is: It’s no fair to use a gun. If you are going to hunt, and eat the meat (which is incredibly good for you versus store bought), use the hide, use everything off the animal because otherwise it’s just disrespectful, and give the damn thing a chance. It’s got NO chance against something semi automatic with a scope, etc. Hunting is very, very hard, even with a gun, and even harder with a bow. It’s a very primal thing (well, it is for me anyway, no fancy gear or high tech tools), it’s a very good workout and MOST of the time, there’s no kill to be had. Kind of humbles you thinking about just how hard predators have it, since they don’t have grocery stores. I also have a spear and one day, oh yes, oh day, I will learn to use it well enough to hunt tribe style. Yeah, I doubt that’s ever gonna happen being the thing is like 5 feet taller than me, but ya, one can hope!

    • ReaderWoman says:

      I took 3 years of archery in college (it was a two year college…) and am the daughter of an avid hunter. Grew up eating venison, pheasant etc. My husband is a fisherman… so I am enthusiastic about such “arts” even though I don’t participate in any myself. Please send pictures of you stalking with your spear – I have an incredible visual here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

