Teaching an Old (!?) Dog New Tricks…


NOTE: My library connection does badly at uploading photos from my computer. The graphic at the left I got offline, and that went fine, but it will NOT upload my personal pictures! SO, you will have to read this sans pictures until I get a connection of my own. Sigh. Sorry…

At first, my current gap in having internet availability 24/7 was irritating in the extreme, to say the least! But I realize that the boredom and cabin fever (trailer fever?) trends in my life were creating an artificial need to be online that could be salved by other things! I do need to be online regularly, to post blogs, submit reviews, touch bases with family and friends, and do research for work-related things. But these things can be scheduled, and I can do a lot of things at home, and then have things ready to upload when I AM online!

So… I am enjoying my life, being back in California – Arizona was a learning experience, certainly – and I have that much more clarity about myself – which is amazing given the adage about teaching old dogs new tricks!  I learned I don’t like living in a trailer, on wheels, for although I have lived in mobile homes, a travel-type trailer is a whole different ball of wax! I learned I don’t like excessive heat, especially the kind that is plus 100° or even plus 110° for days and even weeks, on end. Accompanied by wind and dust storms, (haboobs) this was, for me, a hellish experience! I don’t like being housebound (or, in this case, trailer bound) by extremes of weather. I like more freedom to make choices about my days, and my activities, rather than have the parameters set by physical living circumstances. I am grateful to those who made this (Arizona) experience happen, yet, back in California, in the upper middle part of the state, I am finding yet another new life.

My new home is small, yet highly functional – and as I unpack books that have been in storage for almost a year, and see my family treasures emerging from dust and packing paper, I am more aware than I have been for a while about my connectivity to my parents, my grandparents and my adult children and grandchildren. Antecedents and Descendants! I have pictures on my fridge that my grandsons drew, and paintings that belonged to my grandmother, and then my mother, before me. Rhythm, continuity, footsteps to follow and paths to show. My own crafts are finding their niches, and my treasures are clustered in new ways, in new places, yet inspiring the same spirit of contentment and belonging that they did in other homes, apartments and mobile homes.

Our rental is part of an estate; a man in his 60s who understands the value of family, place, history and relationships. The property has been in his family since the 1930s; in a previous home (a Victorian Farmhouse I would have liked to have seen!) on the property his grandmother raised ten children. He has just finished setting up his will for his daughter and her children, to save the property in perpetuity for family. I look out my bedroom window, and see an olive orchard. My open front door shows pasture, with a barn and horse stalls where I hope to run a small flock of chickens come Spring. There is a quietness here, despite a busy road nearby, that creates a different tune for me, new and yet familiar and evocative.

I sometimes wish I had done things differently, and had more to leave my offspring. But we tried to give them a diverse and interesting childhood, with travel, theater, concerts and art as part of their lives. So perhaps those treasures, when combined with the boxes of family photos, the memorabilia of the past, and our somewhat skewed and unique outlooks on life will be enough for our children to retain a sense of time and space, of family and future, of past and future. After, roots and wings is what it is what I want my children to have…

About ReaderWoman

Professional reader and researcher for writers - Reviewer and Editor for online book review sites - AVID reader (well, duh!) writer, crafter (sewing, jewelry, fiber art) photographer, herb gardener, love to learn new things - Married 3842 years, 2 "kids" (now 34 and 36) and two grands (13 and 15) Born and raised California Girl, with stints in Tennessee, learning to speak Southern, and Arizona, learning that living in a trailer is NOT fun! Enjoy conversations with wine and chocolate, long walks and being with hubby and family. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Life is What Happens..., Personal Ramblings, ~ Renew ~ and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Teaching an Old (!?) Dog New Tricks…

  1. Jo says:

    Beautifully written!

Leave a Reply

