Bananas and Blue Cheese


I have weird taste in food. (Or is that I like weird tasting food?!) I attribute most of it to one of several birth anomalies; I was born with an incomplete esophagus. Apparently it was not severe enough to warrant surgery, or perhaps surgery for such things weren’t available back in the 50s. My parents were told that it would repair (connect) itself in time. The side-affect of it though was that I had to eat bland, pureed food (usually jars of baby food) until I was around five years of age.

Other health problems – including hyperactive thyroid, may have led me to also be fond of salt. I have heard of people that salt melon, but I am the only one I know that salts bananas. Yes. You heard correctly. I salt bananas. I slice them, usually, into a bowl, and sprinkle salt on top. Then I let it sit a while and get juicy; just like putting sugar on berries to bring out the juiciness, salt seems to do the same for bananas. Yum. I have totally grossed out my grandsons on occasion, who stare with bemused fascination as I grab the salt shaker and have at it. I don’t do it as much any more, I admit, since age has brought with it high blood pressure. I also salted ice cubes as a child, and then walked around licking the dripping cube, which my mother told me gave her a clue that there was something going on that was, well, shall we say, a bit abnormal, about me…

What other factors influence our choices of food over a lifetime? Why do we sometimes get it in our heads that we don’t like a food – not based on experience (e.g. having tasted it) or family likes (a parent likes it) or even visual or aromatic. My mother didn’t like beets too much, I love them (but not pickled…) My father almost always made barbecued hamburgers stuffed with blue cheese, and to this day, blue cheese is one of my favorite foods. In my adulthood (well, I am an adult, at least chronologically!) I have taken up crabcakes and Japanese eggplant (crabcakes in particular – when I was recovering from cancer, and even today, my favorite sister Betty remembers that blue cheese, sourdough and crabcakes will bring a big smile to my face!)

Blue cheese is a strange like for someone who spent her infant/toddler years specializing in bland. But I love it. My favorite way is on saltines, or slathered on fresh sourdough. Or, of course in the center of a nice juicy medium rare hamburger… So why do we all have such food idiosyncrasies? There are flavors I like, and textures I don’t like. I don’t like fruit with seeds (raspberries, strawberries etc.) although I love raspberry jelly. I love eggs, but only scrambled firm or hardboiled. I love malt-o-meal but not oatmeal or cream of wheat.

My favorite snack – my closest friends can tell you – Wheat Thins! With spreadable cheese… and a close second is Chex Mix!

I love snack time that includes both salty and sweet.

My favorite dessert for some time now has been homemade snow cones/icees… especially now we are in the heat of Arizona. We have them every night. Give me a huge bowl of shaved ice (with sugar-free homemade topping!) and a side of crackers or chips and I am good to go.

I hate carbonated drinks. (Well, I will drink champagne, but at least there is a buzz there – a payback of sorts!) ALWAYS have. I was the only teen dating who went out for burgers, fries and… non-fat milk?! To this day non-fat milk is my non-alcoholic beverage of choice. I don’t drink as much as I used to, do to increasing intolerance – losing my gall bladder (now where the hell DID I put that thing?!) made some foods bodily unfriendly I am afraid. sigh.

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Salted-Chocolate-Caramels-236701

Picture is link to recipe for choc caramels (hopefully!)

I LOVE chocolate. I have been so excited to see the latest trends in chocolate to be the salted chocolate caramel. Woot, woot! ** Dark chocolate is my preference, and what the hell – give me a glass of red wine and a piece of dark chocolate before bedtime and I will get some health benefits as well! My favorite candy as a child was Pixie Stix. Still enjoy one every now and again… (stolen from my grandsons’ Halloween stash, usually…)

SO what about you? What food(s) float your boat or make you want a vomitorium? Where do you get your likes and dislikes about food from? What new food would you like to try?!

*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&*&

Footnote

**Woot originated as a hacker term for root (or administrative) access to a computer. However, with the term as coincides with the gamer term, “w00t”.

“w00t” was originally an truncated expression common among players of Dungeons and Dragons tabletop role-playing game for “Wow, loot!” Thus the term passed into the net-culture where it thrived in video game communities and lost its original meaning and is used simply as a term of excitement. (http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=woot)

About ReaderWoman

Professional reader and researcher for writers - Reviewer and Editor for online book review sites - AVID reader (well, duh!) writer, crafter (sewing, jewelry, fiber art) photographer, herb gardener, love to learn new things - Married 3842 years, 2 "kids" (now 34 and 36) and two grands (13 and 15) Born and raised California Girl, with stints in Tennessee, learning to speak Southern, and Arizona, learning that living in a trailer is NOT fun! Enjoy conversations with wine and chocolate, long walks and being with hubby and family. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Personal Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bananas and Blue Cheese

  1. Laura Hodge says:

    Onions. Blech. Bell peppers. Blech, blech. My parents tried and tried and tried; it just was not to be. My son likes them. My daughter hates them. My daughter’s son loves them. All my siblings love them. I have tried, honestly I have. If somebody tells me there are no onions in the potato salad and I take a bite my teeth will know if there is one or not and will not bite down. If you really want bell peppers on your half of the pizza the other half will not be mine because it has been contaminated by the smell. However, give me a bowl of french onion soup and I am a happy girl, although there will be a puddle of onions in the bottom of the bowl when I am finished. Maybe it’s just the broiled cheese on top? All things cheesy…yum!! (I have a friend in cheeses,) Like my buddy, Laura, I am very fond of blue cheese and have lately expanded that fondness to gorgonzola. YUM!

    I really don’t have much of a sweet tooth, although, again, like my buddy, Laura, dark chocolate, the darker the better, is my nighttime snack. In fact, I have become so snobbish about my 73% cacao dark chocolate that I won’t eat milk chocolate anymore; too cloyingly sweet for me. Excuse me a moment, must go to the fridge for a square right now. . . . mmmm. . . soul soothing.

    I also love fruit, almost all fruit (leaving out mango and a few other too sweet ones). I prefer most of my vegetables raw and I can build a heck of a salad with all those veggies. Unfortunately, as I have aged I have lost cucumbers; they just stay with me for too long. The day I discovered that watermelon was doing the same thing I was distraught. Then, wonder of wonders, last summer I threw caution to the wind and took a bite. Miraculously, there were no side effects. I have a mini seedless melon chilling now. Tomorrow is the day. Then on Sunday I will slice into the pineapple. Consequently, I am always looking for ways to cook with various fruits and combine them with a protein source to give me a meal. More often than not the fruit ends up in my salad, although if dead pig…oh, excuse me…pork, is on the menu an apple will usually be cooked with it.

    And, that sequaes me to meat. I do not care for beef; it leaves a coating in my mouth that I find very distasteful. I eat a lot of chicken because it’s a good protein source. I adore pork. Any kind of pork. However, lately I have been contemplating a life without meat again. I lived without meat for 7 years in my 30s and I am thinking about returning to more of a vegetarian (never vegan!) diet. I find that I am using nuts and beans a lot more lately, so I think I will at least cut back on the meat, if not cut it out altogether.

    As for what new food I would like to try, I have been looking at eggplant lately. I have yet to have eggplant that I liked, but I think I have not had it enough times to know for sure. And, lately, I am leaning a lot towards Indian cooking. Trader Joe’s is my favorite market. Palak paneer is to die for!!

    And, now, I have to go feed the goats and chickens.

  2. ReaderWoman says:

    Rabia my love you really really REALLY need to start blogging – I loved your comments! I have been breading japanese eggplants, and cooking them in a hot pan lightly coated with rosemary infused olive oil. Oh YEAH! Do you get any of the goat milk and eggs?

  3. Deb says:

    Hmmm. My mother has always eaten Saltines with apple pie. She likes the sweet-salty combo. And I like dill pickles with popcorn (sour and salty). As soon as my local eating month is over, I’m going to try bleu cheese on a cracker. Never thought of that. Thanks for the idea!

    • ReaderWoman says:

      I actually saw a recipe for apple pie with a saltine crust once… don’t remember where tho’! Saltines are best for cheese, IMHO – they provide the salt and the crunch without distracting from the flavor of the cheese. I wonder if you could make your own blue/bleu cheese with goats milk?

    • Laura Hodge says:

      Deb! You are so right. One of my favorite snacks is scooping cottage cheese, right out of the container, with saltine crackers. I used to love crackers crumbled in milk but seem to have lost the taste for it. My dad, however, has crackers and milk, preferably buttermilk, every night.

Leave a Reply

