Seasons of my Life


This is sort of a mish mash posting. There is both lots going on and nothing going on, at the same time! My move is done, although most of  my life still seems to be in storage in California; we will bring things here a bit at a time as we make room for them…

A review of mine was recently posted a review on the Story Circle Book Review site, to great kudos. It is my review of The Wilder Life: My Adventures in the Lost World of Little House on the Prairie. I will post it here on the blog in a week or so, or you can go to SCBR and read it there. (http://storycirclebookreviews.org/reviews/wilderlife.shtml)

The reading of this book was a journey home, of a sorts, in that Laura Ingalls Wilder has been a part of my life since the day of my birth – I was, at least in part, named for her by my three older sisters. (“Laura” is also a family name). Oh and by the way – for  my friends who are fans of Sarah Addison Allen, read Susan Ideus’ great review of the Peach Keeper HERE>> http://www.storycirclebookreviews.org/reviews/peachkeeper.shtml

Today, (Wednesday March 23) I have a posting appearing on the fashion blog, Bangle and Clutch. Anyone who knows me well will laugh hysterically at the thought of me anywhere near a fashion site or blog. But my writing-sisters there at Bangle and Clutch offered other women a chance to expand their reach by offering a guest post on their blog. Mine is about age. About respect. About acknowledging accomplishment and honoring our elders. You can find the post here – http://www.bangleandclutch.com/blog/ and I will re-post it here on the blog in a few weeks. I am so grateful for the opportunity afforded to me by Bangle and Clutch! Please go and read the posting, and while you are there, take a “look see” at the site. I hope this will bring fresh readers and new comments to my blogging efforts, which, I admit have been lacking in volume in the last two months as I re-establish myself in a new state, both physical and mental.

Other news in my life is my accepting a new opportunity with a dear friend and accomplice Bobby Bradford. Under my banner of Time in a Bottle Writers Services, Bobby and I are going to be working together to market and publicize his works of writing. I no longer have a website for Time in a Bottle, since I changed the focus from office services to services for writers and authors. I have known Bobby for over 20 years, since he and my lovely sister Betty joined lives as companions and consorts. Bobby is a remarkable playwright, an accomplished musician and artist.  He has won two Bay Area Theatre Critics Circle Awards for Best Play in the Fringe of Marin Festival of One-Acts, and his plays have also been produced by Construct Theatre Company on W. 14th St. in New York, the Black Box Festival at College of Marin in Kentfield, CA, the Petaluma Arts Council (CA), Ross Valley Players (CA) and Café Amsterdam in Fairfax, CA, and published in Mused (Bella Online). His stories have been published in Bohème Magazine, SoMa Literary Review, Slow Trains Literary Journal and Long Story Short. He teaches writing at Dominican University of California. I am really looking forward to working with him – it will be a great learning opportunity for me, to work for a writing instructor, and I hope that I can get his body of work out there more to the public; he is richly deserving of aclaim. Feel free to contact me at readerwoman (at) gmail dot com if you have connections or an interest in publishing Bobby’s work!

At first glimpse, Arizona doesn’t have much in the way of seasons. But our weeks of Spring here have been filled with interesting weather, awesome hikes and new adventures. Hail and heavy rain yesterday, won’t get over mid 50’s this week, although last week we were hiking in mid-70’s sunshine! Not warm enough for the snakes to come out yet, but the lizards can be found sunning on the rocks and almost daily a couple of road runners come around for a bite to eat! Gorgeous sunrises and sunsets on the horizon over the mountains, and no smog, traffic noise or big-city hurry. Heaven on Earth!

About ReaderWoman

Professional reader and researcher for writers - Reviewer and Editor for online book review sites - AVID reader (well, duh!) writer, crafter (sewing, jewelry, fiber art) photographer, herb gardener, love to learn new things - Married 3842 years, 2 "kids" (now 34 and 36) and two grands (13 and 15) Born and raised California Girl, with stints in Tennessee, learning to speak Southern, and Arizona, learning that living in a trailer is NOT fun! Enjoy conversations with wine and chocolate, long walks and being with hubby and family. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Personal Ramblings, ~ @ Random ~. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Seasons of my Life

  1. susanideus says:

    Great post here as well as your guest post. (lots to think about there!) Oh, and thanks for the shout out for my book review. It really is a great book.

    Glad you’re settling in to your new adventure. The new job collaboration sounds terrific.

    Could you send some of that rain our way? Everything is going north of us. It’s so very dry, and having been through several high-fire danger years the last time we lived in NM, I’m praying for rain. Also too warm for this time of year and very windy–compounding the problem. Still, I don’t want to be anywhere else. Spring in the desert is wonderful.

    • ReaderWoman says:

      I was kind of in a ranting mood when I wrote that guest post – tired of people making assumptions about me because I am older, a woman, overweight or whatever! But I do believe that elders don’t get the respect they have earned and deserved.

      I had a long talk with a couple of rain clouds here yesterday and said ” go east, fat clouds, go east…” so let me know if you see them! 🙂
      Spring in the desert is glorious – never thought I would be a desert dweller!

  2. Dear Laura,
    Lions and Tigers and Bears..oh my.

    You do keep busy. I’m in awe of the amount of writing and information about writing that you supply to the rest of us. And your clear descriptions of your new neighborhood are as close to being there as I can imagine. I especially identified with the mention of it being too cool for the snakes to come out yet. Two of my friends and I almost stepped on an enormous grandfather rattle snake while hiking in the Arizona desert. It had to be five feet long and large in girth. But it was sluggish and slow because it was this time of year. So keep your eyes open and watch your step. I was so impressed by the experience that I wrote a story about it. I’ll have to look it up in my files. I write and forget where I put stories so I lose them as easily as I lose my glasses. Very informative post. I loved it.

    • ReaderWoman says:

      Thanks for the nice comments Betty – it is great to know that my postings can be inspirational and informative! Lions and Tigers and Bears…indeed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

