Treasures Lost and Found


hWe moved to Arizona with only what we could fit in our 1995 Saturn 4door sedan. 10 days worth of clothes, pots and pans, bedding, and of course our two dachshunds. It hasn’t been too bad, we realized my husband’s medicines got packed in a box that, at the last minute, stayed behind. I ended up with no dish towels, and no spices either – they must all be in that same box! (That stuff is in storage, until we go back up in April to get it!)

We also forgot the dog’s toys. Dixie’s. Kadie will play with them once in a while in a mood of bonhomie, but the toys belong to Dixie. One had been left in the car on some earlier drive – a little green bear that one of my grandson’s got at (gasp) Mickey D’s. Fortunately, there was a starfish still in Arizona from our recognizance mission in February. It belonged to the dogs of the previous caretakers who took care of the property until Feb. 1. Dixie had adopted it and then it got stuck away and it didn’t make it back to Cali. She was delighted to see it again, and, since it has a squeaker inside, it is a noisy accompaniment to our day to day lives in a 30 foot trailer.

Long story short. She mislaid it tonight. Ed and I were both reading, and noticed she was bouncing from couch to floor, on the bed, over and under everything. Even into the bathroom, which she generally avoids, as that is where the B word occurs. (Bath…) Finally I said to Ed, “something is bothering her, she will not settle down!” I stood up and she looked up at me with encouragement. “Yeah, mom, you go find it!”

We tore our little trailer apart. Remade the bed, went through the dirty laundry, looked under the table… no starfish. Ed looked behind our sofabed/couch and said – “here it is! She must have dropped it back here earlier! Where is the grabber?” (in California of course. In a box. Sigh. ) I held up the sofa (easier than it sounds!) and Ed was finally able to grasp it. Dixie was dancing around in a frenzy of excitement. She lay down on the floor near me, and gnawed on it for at least a half hour – not interested in playing fetch with it, or in letting anyone else handle it. When she tired, she crawled into her bed, curled up around the starfish and went to sleep.

We have so many treasures in our lives – many with no real monetary value, but precious nonetheless. My original Amish-made quilt, thought lost, which showed up during the packing for the move. My demented cuckoo clock that we finally had to turn off, because the bird cackles at all hours of the day and night. The beautiful birthday card my daughter made me a couple of years ago, and the lovely box my son made me in woodshop in high school. THESE are the treasures of my life, along with my grown children, precious grandsons, dear husband and, now, Dixie’s funky little starfish. Silly ol’ dog…

IMG_0734

About ReaderWoman

Professional reader and researcher for writers - Reviewer and Editor for online book review sites - AVID reader (well, duh!) writer, crafter (sewing, jewelry, fiber art) photographer, herb gardener, love to learn new things - Married 3842 years, 2 "kids" (now 34 and 36) and two grands (13 and 15) Born and raised California Girl, with stints in Tennessee, learning to speak Southern, and Arizona, learning that living in a trailer is NOT fun! Enjoy conversations with wine and chocolate, long walks and being with hubby and family. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Personal Ramblings, ~ Reminisce ~. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Treasures Lost and Found

  1. Yes, I commiserate and empathize – the treasures of oiur lives are so important at times. It’s kind of nice to leave a few behind to savor again in a few months. I was doing the same thing – looking for a phone, finally found it after 3 days and looking for paperwork – it took a few days too. That picture of Dixie is so cozily darling! And the starfish matches the quilt. I’m glad the trip was a good one for ya’ll. Madi

  2. This is the sweetest story. I could see that little dog in her frantic search for the Starfish. And that photo of her with the toy is a treasure. I can feel her contentment, and I can also feel yours. I love finding a lost item. It means that it wasn’t stolen after all.

Leave a Reply

