Contest, Rain, Moving and Other Confusions


FIRST – note there is a new contest. It only lasts 4 days, so get your entries in NOW! Follow the rules, please! 🙂

NEXT – it is raining. Hard. With lotsa wind. I like rain. Really, I do. But NOT when I am trying to pack, organize, have a yard sale, sort things, make difficult decisions and pack. (oh, did I say pack already?!) Rain makes me feel lazy, like curling up in my chair with a cup of chai tea latte, a good book (hell, even with a bad book!) and being swept away,ignoring the elements. Can’t do that.  I have packed 4 boxes and 1 suitcase. Total. ACK! I am running out of room to store stuff already packed, and I can’t use the deck/porch I intended to use, because wind has spilled the rain all over the place out there. Okay. Deep breathing here… Ohmmmmm….

Another thing rainy days do, whether on Mondays or not, is make me question my sanity. In particular, my move. It is a good move, and will be a marvelous adventure. Just not in the rain. Hell, it is even raining in Arizona where we are moving! There is no escape! I have added today’s question to my interview with Betty Auchard, on Library Thing (PLEASE visit!) updated my contest page here on the blog, answered emails and done whatever possible to avoid facing the mess that is my house these days. Remember the blog about rearranging furniture? That was a piece of cake compared to this! Before, during and after lists are being made, and we are stymied by the sheer mass of brain-cells required to make decisions, choices and plans.
 
LAST – I am busying myself by finding tasks for my husband to perform while I sit in my chair with my computer, in my pajamas, listening to the wind blow and the rain pound on the metal roof of our mobile home. I think he is on to me now… so my period of sloth is over… back to the arduous task of boxing up my life and moving it somewhere else!

 
 
About ReaderWoman

Professional reader and researcher for writers - Reviewer and Editor for online book review sites - AVID reader (well, duh!) writer, crafter (sewing, jewelry, fiber art) photographer, herb gardener, love to learn new things - Married 3842 years, 2 "kids" (now 34 and 36) and two grands (13 and 15) Born and raised California Girl, with stints in Tennessee, learning to speak Southern, and Arizona, learning that living in a trailer is NOT fun! Enjoy conversations with wine and chocolate, long walks and being with hubby and family. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Personal Ramblings, ~ @ Random ~. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Contest, Rain, Moving and Other Confusions

  1. susanideus says:

    I sympathize with the rain nuisance. We had the same thing in TX the day we were packing up the final stuff and getting ready to leave. What a nightmare! When we arrived here it was dry and record heat–made me question my sanity as well. But, it works out, and I just know once your Arizona adventure starts, you’ll love it!

    As for the contest, I would love to win the book because it’s been on my to-be-read wish list ever since I read the review for it. Sounds wonderful, and I know I would enjoy it!

    • ReaderWoman says:

      Thanks Susan. This is downsizing at it’s most ridiculous.
      First we are moving from a mere 600 square feet to 300.
      Secondly, we are only taking a car load to start with – and we have a small car! We are storing virtually everything until Spring – in part so we can see what we can do without (and what we can’t) and partly so our son, who is still jobless and staying with friends, can decide whether or not he is going to need our furniture or not.
      The trailer we are living in (or rather WILL be living in) is equiped with sofa(bed) dinette (bed) and queen sized bed (bedroom of it’s own!)… so we are taking NO furniture. Just writing about it moves me from whelmed to overwhelmed!

Leave a Reply

