February 15, 2011 Holy Cow!


holy cow

I can’t believe how time has flown past and how busy my quiet little life has gotten!

dinnette - part of slide outOur plans to move to AZ are moving forward well; trailer is in place, packing has commenced, and organization is the watchword of the household at the moment!

Our plans have been stymied and confounded by family events; our son, thought to be newly settled in TN with his fiancée, has returned to California heartbroken and newly single. No  job, no apartment. Fortunately he still has his car, and he is staying with friends as he job-hunts, but concern for him and his emotional state has been a bit worrisome! Then,  on February 12th, my tall, charming 16-year-old grand-nephew (my sister Margaret’s grandson) was out riding his bike (helmet-less) and was hit by a car. He remains in ICU , while tests are done for brain damage, and although he is now out of his doctor-induced coma, and off the respirator, he is not as responsive as the neurosurgeons would like.  Added to the concerns for Ben are my concerns for my sister, who is 13 years older than myself, and my brother-in-law, who is 27 years older than me. At 71 and 85 they are not taking care of their own health in their worry for their grandson, so I am wondering if I am leaving at a time that I might be needed.

View out front doorYet our new home beckons; the deep quiet of the desert, with its rich, inspiring sunrises and profoundly beautiful sunsets will be there to renew my spirits and feed my soul. I am longing for a chance to hike and rock-hunt, to feel a touch of the romance and the mystery pioneers passing through this area must have felt.

The time is ripe for this adventure, and after years of caring for children and my elder mother, I am feeling the need to take care of myself! Wish me luck!Winking smile

About ReaderWoman

Professional reader and researcher for writers - Reviewer and Editor for online book review sites - AVID reader (well, duh!) writer, crafter (sewing, jewelry, fiber art) photographer, herb gardener, love to learn new things - Married 3842 years, 2 "kids" (now 34 and 36) and two grands (13 and 15) Born and raised California Girl, with stints in Tennessee, learning to speak Southern, and Arizona, learning that living in a trailer is NOT fun! Enjoy conversations with wine and chocolate, long walks and being with hubby and family. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Personal Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to February 15, 2011 Holy Cow!

  1. Wow, Laura…my heart goes out to you and your family. I send heartfelt wishes for healing and renewal for all. Blessings to you all and may you be safe on your journey to AZ.

  2. Pam Parker says:

    Laura:
    Many prayers; comfort; compassion; empathy and the power to know when to take care of YOU. I can say that i can to some degree relate. I have a son that is experiencing so many challenges; i know he needs alot of support; i had a sister in a coma; and now i have chosen to spend some time on ME. Now i must pay attention to others needs as well as honoring my own. HARD TO DO; GEEZ.
    So i also will continue to embrace Arizona and its gifts.
    Prayers for you; your family being sent continually.

  3. Yes, take care of you – without you, many systems would be down. We all must think of this. I hope your grand-nephew comes around sooner than expected and I’m putting these thoughts out into the universe. Ah, the cares of this world, there always seems to be something. Here’s to peace and quiet and time to gather our thoughts in an organized manner. Hugs to all, Madi

  4. Dear Laura…oh my gosh, girl. My heart aches a huge amount for the burdens you’re carrying now. I pray and pray and pray that whatever is in the near future that your and your family can weather it. We don’t know our own strength until we’re called upon to summon it.

    Thanks, also, for your wonderful writing and kind attention to our chat project this month. I hope that when it’s over, we do NOT lose touch with each other.

    I love the holy cow image and the inside of your home as well as the view to the outdoor desert area.

    My very best to you, dear lady.

    Betty

  5. Deb says:

    Laura, honey, I’m so sorry to hear about the grand nephew. Sending positive thoughts to all of you.

    On the new home … wow! What a view!

Leave a Reply

