February 7, 2011 Life is what Happens when you are Busy Making Other Plans…


Well, February’s Blog is going to diverge quite a bit from January’s! Life has gotten hectic, exciting and breathless. Right at this moment, I am in Golden Valley, AZ., sitting at the window looking over the valley lights, and waiting for starlight. For those of you who only follow me by blog, my husband and I were offered, and accepted, the job of caretakers here. Max and Gaye are snowbirds who spend Spring and Summer in their home in Michigan. So although we will be living here year ’round, we are obligated to be here Summer and Fall. And yes, before you tell me, I know it will be hot. I would have not expected this to be a life choice for me. But the stark, majestic beauty here has a different scent, a different beauty and a different appeal.

We will be living in a 30 foot travel trailer, with a 14 foot super slide pop-out. Full bedroom, nice bathroom, comfortable living for two. Well, four, but Dixie and Kadie are having a ball, enjoying the new animal smells and sounds. Wild burros pass through frequently, there are three road runners who stop by for a dinner of meatballs (raw, small balls made by Gayle), long eared jackrabbits bound through, and quail scurry across the road every time we drive (on dirt roads some of the way) into town.

My sister Betty and her sig-other are the owners of the trailer, which they are renting to us for a nominal amount until Bobby is ready to live in it while he builds on his property, which is nearby. Dear friend Karl lives a couple of acres over, and we met another couple our age who will be building a snowbird retreat here soon as well.

We have explored the area a bit with our son David, who came with us on this initial visit. Golden Valley is small, but growing, and nearby Kingman, about 15 minutes away, has everything you might want – although we don’t want much!

Yesterday we visited a unique place called the “Secret Pass.” It is a 16 mile trail, mostly intended for four-wheelers, although hikers enjoy it too. At the end of the pass, there is a sort of watering hole for the local mountain goats, burrows and wildlife.

The trailer will be put in place, hopefully, tomorrow, and we will get it set up and ready for our return, after we pack up and store a lot of things! We are looking forward to this new adventure and new home, and hope that those of you in the tri-state area will come and visit during the cool weather!

About ReaderWoman

Professional reader and researcher for writers - Reviewer and Editor for online book review sites - AVID reader (well, duh!) writer, crafter (sewing, jewelry, fiber art) photographer, herb gardener, love to learn new things - Married 3842 years, 2 "kids" (now 34 and 36) and two grands (13 and 15) Born and raised California Girl, with stints in Tennessee, learning to speak Southern, and Arizona, learning that living in a trailer is NOT fun! Enjoy conversations with wine and chocolate, long walks and being with hubby and family. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Life is What Happens... and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to February 7, 2011 Life is what Happens when you are Busy Making Other Plans…

  1. What a wonderful thing to happen for you! Yes, Kingman can get hot and they say they have a water shortage – that is why development doesn’t happen to the area. I have a friend who lives there on 997 acres. And another friend who used to live there. How old is Karl – does he need a personal assistant. I’m good at it and do have experience. My choice in AZ would be Patagonia – in the Verde Valley. I need to drive to NC and steal my ex’s Winnebago – “he stole my Shasta” – and drive off into the sunset. I’m getting very restless here. And summer mosquitoes will be here before I know it.

    • ReaderWoman says:

      Karl is retired – but he is laid back and mellow – you would probably hit it off! He graduated from hs in 1963… so he’s about the right age too! 🙂 We have a sofabed, come by and visit sometime after we are settled! 🙂

  2. PS – Am glad things are happening for you – that is a beautiful trailer!

  3. You will be on my route home – I go Rte 40 all the way – I love that old road.
    You should see my Red Lincoln – it has a Cobra or Marauder engine in it – and it
    goes! Fun car to drive. Expensive to keep up. I hope to take it to auction in Scottsdale in 2016 – it will become a classic and there weren’t that many Diamond Anniversary Lincoln Mark VIII’s made. I’d much rather have a van or mo ho. But, this is what I have for now. Will drop by! Thanks for the invite.

  4. Susan Ideus says:

    You know already how much I love the desert. I hope you find the same peace and serenity we’ve experienced. Weather will be ever-changing and unpredictable, the wildlife varied, and the vegetation starkly spectacular. There is no equal for a desert sunrise or sunset. I think you’ll be close to mountains as well, right? I think it’s the best of both possible worlds. I’m happy for you! Looks like you’ll be about 9 hours from us.

  5. Wowie wow…what surprises life brings. And here I thought that one of these days we were going to meet up in California. But, I must admit that this is very exciting. You’re going to have a whole new set of stories to tell.
    “See ya” in the morning.

  6. Very exciting! I will enjoy reading about the landscape and animals. Sounds like a new adventure. Best wishes in your new home and many blessings!

  7. Deb says:

    Excited, excited! A new beginning is always full of wonder!

  8. Laura Hodge says:

    I am so excited for you! Before I came to Tucson I asked Jon to tell me what it is about the desert that keeps him here summer after hot summer and he told me it is unexplainable and probably inexplicable; the desert will either embrace you or reject you and you will most likely know which it is immediately.

    I have been here almost seven years now and I am constantly enchanted by the desert. As much as I love Tucson, there are moments when I yearn to be out in the desert. Some of my most magickal moments here have come after spending quiet time with the fascinating flora and fauna.

    I know your desert system is a bit different up there. I also know you and I share the ability to bloom where we are planted. I predict you are going to love it.

    Welcome to the reddest state in the west! We can use some of your blue blood (as well as philosophy) to help us move through what comes next.

Leave a Reply

