January 25,2011 Read


The latter end of this week – starting the 28th, I will be blogging and hosting Betty Auchard. On the 7th of Feb., I will begin a conversation and discussion on Library Thing with Betty as well. Watch this spot for more information!

Today, though, I want to talk a bit about some favorite authors whose works I read over and over again. Yes, that’s right, I am, gasp, a re-reader! Although my daughter Becca has been the lucky (?) recipient of most of my books in the last two years, after my cancer and treatment, there are a few favored authors, almost all mystery writers, that stay on my shelf, year in and year out.

D.E. Stevenson was a remarkable woman. She wrote many books in her lifetime, and all of them had the flavor of home. She wrote about Scotland often, and about human relationships. My personal favorite is the story of sisters in the time period before, and partly during WWII.  Listening Valley has so much character and personality that I came to think of Tonia as a member of my family.I re-read it at least once a year. Right now, I am reading (RE-reading) Winter and Rough Weather, written in 1951. If you have not discovered this writer, hie thee to a library, and check some out.

Another author I really enjoy is a Canadian that started writing mystery-suspense novels. Susanna Kearsley was  born in 1966, she took a long break to have her family, but started writing again around 2008 or so, and the new stuff is as great as the older things written back in the 1990’s. My personal favorite, The Shadowy Horses has great characters and a deeply historically-interesting plot.

Laurie R. King, Susan Wittig Albert and Deborah Adams are three other writers whose works are constantly re-read. I love the style, class and information I get from these women who write such marvelous mysteries.

I suppose part of the reason that I re-read is that I am a fast reader, and my favorite authors don’t write fast enough for me! Susan comes close, since she has three series going now, and I am always thrilled to find new writers who fill my reading (and re-reading…) cravings. Some of those are Sarah Addison Allen, Jacqueline Winspear and Deanna Raybourn… New, exciting and VERY readable…

How about you> Do you have a favorite author that you read over and over again? Agatha Christie? (I prefer Miss Marple) Elizabeth Peters or her alter ego Barbara Michaels? Arthur Conan Doyle?

About ReaderWoman

Professional reader and researcher for writers - Reviewer and Editor for online book review sites - AVID reader (well, duh!) writer, crafter (sewing, jewelry, fiber art) photographer, herb gardener, love to learn new things - Married 3842 years, 2 "kids" (now 34 and 36) and two grands (13 and 15) Born and raised California Girl, with stints in Tennessee, learning to speak Southern, and Arizona, learning that living in a trailer is NOT fun! Enjoy conversations with wine and chocolate, long walks and being with hubby and family. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Personal Ramblings, ~ Read ~. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to January 25,2011 Read

  1. Laura, drop me a line immediately at btauchard@aol.com.

    Betty

  2. Deb says:

    Wow! how nice to be included with such fine writers! I’ve finally gotten my hands on The Winter Sea by Kearsley. That woman must be a goddess, because she is certainly not a mere mortal. I periodically re-read the Amelia Peabody books by Elizabeth Peters, and the Mary Stewarts. The one that is most loved (i.e. falling apart from the re-reads) is Thornyhold — a gentle, sweet story that is told with the flow and magic of generated by an extraordinarily gifted writer.

  3. ReaderWoman says:

    I enjoy old Mary Stewarts too – particularly the Merlin/Arthur ones!

    You ARE one of my favorite authors, which is why I nag you all the time to write more! 🙂

Leave a Reply

