January 24,2011, Reminisce


Well, I know it is Tuesday the 25th but yesterday got away from me, so I am posting today! Get over it. Will also post a Tuesday post later in the day – lucky you – two posts in one day!

Yesterday we (Ed and I, sans dogs) went for a hike, 2.5 miles of grassy verge, meandering around the Suisun Bay Estuary. An American Kestrel kept pace with us – but I couldn’t get a picture – or rather, the only one I got was of him/her in flight. Angus cows are in the fields there, and were curious but not approachable. Came home worn out, though, and fully aware of my physical limitations. Gonna do it again Wednesday, with the thought that the more often I do it, the less my body will complain…

Why post this on a Reminisce day? I can remember “walking” with my sisters, up the hills that comprised our Woodland Estates neighborhood of my childhood. I was 8 and 11 years younger than they, and enjoyed listening to teen-aged conversation,the beginnings of  political dissent and… singing. The song that sticks in my head is Marching to Pretoria. I still remember all the verses! Talk about trivial information stuck in my head! Ack! The song was originally recorded in  1954 (recording, Joseph Marais and Miranda) and was well known in Britain and South Africa. Have NO clue why we sang this, but it suited what we were doing – and was great fun. It was popular, I believe, in the 60’s (1960’s that is) and was supposedly based on an Afrikaners Boer War song…and may have had something to do with Baden-Powell and the Boy Scout movement.

But I digress. The walk (we lived on a very steep hill, so it was definitely more of a hike than a walk!) was the important thing, the camaraderie, the stories, and the chance to view myself in the future, with my 15 and 17 year-old sisters.

This song, along with my “barge song” are ones I now torture my family with, when we are walking, or when I see a barge, or just when I want to be an embarrassment. I went to camp a lot as a child, church camps mostly, but some girl scout camps as well, and so I have a plethora of half-remembered songs with which to provide entertainment and torture. Did I mention I can’t sing? At all?

When I used to play Cranium with my friends, they hated it when I drew the card that required me to hum a tune. Rabia insisted that my monotonal hum was enough to make buffalo stampede! Always nice to know that I can make people laugh hysterically just by humming!

So many gentle memories that revolve around songs, and singing. Like scent, hearing an old song can summon up memories I thought long gone. Hearing some songs bring tears, especially protest songs from the 60’s (we haven’t come very far have we!) or hymns from my childhood (This is my Father’s World for example) that resonate with family/friends and my history with them. What about you? What do YOU hum?

About ReaderWoman

Professional reader and researcher for writers - Reviewer and Editor for online book review sites - AVID reader (well, duh!) writer, crafter (sewing, jewelry, fiber art) photographer, herb gardener, love to learn new things - Married 3842 years, 2 "kids" (now 34 and 36) and two grands (13 and 15) Born and raised California Girl, with stints in Tennessee, learning to speak Southern, and Arizona, learning that living in a trailer is NOT fun! Enjoy conversations with wine and chocolate, long walks and being with hubby and family. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Personal Ramblings, ~ Reminisce ~. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

