January 22, 2011 Relaxing


A mellow sunshiny day here on the delta. Hubby is out fishing (a jerk at one end of a pole, waiting for a jerk at the other end – so goes one joke) and I am being lazy. Living room rearranging is almost done, actually have four chairs in here now – guests don’t have to stand up! Of course, we don’t get many guests, for we truly live a quiet life. That bothers me on occasion, but I have come to terms with it, mostly, and am grateful for it. Today’s society, worldwide, is one of hurry and scurry, and life in the slow lane isn’t so bad!

I have time to value the things that mean so much to me, especially family. My son-in-law and I have finally mended bridges, to the point where we can once again laugh and joke together. Last night, we had an unofficial dessert night at their house, to meet my future daughter-in-law and to say goodbye to my son who is moving back to TN. My grands were cheerful and playful (at 8 and 9.5 they are growing up fast!) and it was so much fun watching Becca (31 in March) and David, who turned 29 in December, playing Kinect together on the Nintendo! They are grown up now, but haven’t really ever been buddies, so it was warmth to the cockles of this mother’s heart!

From my kitchen window (a big bay window type thing) I can see the river undulating past – dirty from the winter storms, with all sorts of bizarre “stuff” floating in it – hubby hauled in a redwood burl for the neighbors yesterday! The sun is warm, for a change, and daffodils are blooming. As I relax in my recliner, I can see my favorite pictures on my walls – the lavender fields print of a painting done by friend Connie Davis, our thrift store find photo of John Muir and Teddy Roosevelt, a childhood montage of my mother and her three brothers, all gone now except for one brother, who at 94, now lives in the past.

I have a Memento Mori shelf that is my treasured space for memories of my parents, my mother particularly. An old hymnal, a stained glass triptych, an old clock that dates back to my parents courtship days. I can see that shelf from where I sit. And yes, it is relaxing to sit and ponder life and memories. I am not nearly old enough to begin winding down from life, but I enjoy these quiet times, introspective or casually involved in books and writing. It is nice not to have the heavy burden of raising children, or caring for elderly parents. It is pleasant to sit and dream, and plan, for the future, for travel, for a hike in the hills near the river. There is joy and delight in simplicity – home baked bread, music both old and new, bringing their own set of memories – and in enjoying that simplicity, realizing anew that life is good and kind and gentle. It doesn’t have to be harried, frantic, freaked out by things undone. Dixie and Kadie pop into my lap, warm from the porch’s sunshine, for a quick snuggle, and then are off again to bark their world into order. It is a small, inconsequential life, but it is mine own, and I treasure it, especially when I am relaxing into it!

About ReaderWoman

Professional reader and researcher for writers - Reviewer and Editor for online book review sites - AVID reader (well, duh!) writer, crafter (sewing, jewelry, fiber art) photographer, herb gardener, love to learn new things - Married 3842 years, 2 "kids" (now 34 and 36) and two grands (13 and 15) Born and raised California Girl, with stints in Tennessee, learning to speak Southern, and Arizona, learning that living in a trailer is NOT fun! Enjoy conversations with wine and chocolate, long walks and being with hubby and family. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

