January 18, 2011 Read


I have no idea what inspired me to write the post below – or what cursed me.  I think the excuse I will go for is the devil made me do it!

I believe that a true reader is one that will read anything rather than have nothing to read. For instance, since reading was banned at mealtimes when I was growing up, anything set on the table with words on it became fodder for my growing vocabulary as a child. Backs of cereal boxes, lists of ingredients, big words or little… I loved ‘em all! But as an adult, although my love of words remains, books are the best-loved thing for me. I enjoy magazines, newspapers, catalogs and other ephemera,  and, with my new netbook, have taken to reading e-books, but nothing, but NOTHING, inspires me, entrances me, and captures me like a real book.  Below, I have completely bastardized Cole Porter – read at your own risk! I Get a Kick Out of You

I get no kick from Champagne, Mere alcohol doesn’t move me at all, so tell me why should I get rooked – since I get my kicks out of books…

Some like magazines galore, to me that’s often a bore, some read recipes, like cooks, but I get my kicks out of books.

Some like mere newspapers and ink, I’m should I could too, at the brink, t’would make me fearful of crannies and nooks, ’cause I get my kicks out of books.

Some, they may go for cocaine, but for me, I  will always abstain, it would make me but a simple crook, for I get my kicks out of books.

I get a kick every time I see a library there before me,  I get a kick, though it’s clear to me, books obviously don’t adore me

I get no kick from short stories or games, without the real thing my life is but tamed, that’s my idea of something for schnooks, For I always get my kicks out of books!

 

Tomorrow, back to sanity…maybe…

bwahahaha!

About ReaderWoman

Professional reader and researcher for writers - Reviewer and Editor for online book review sites - AVID reader (well, duh!) writer, crafter (sewing, jewelry, fiber art) photographer, herb gardener, love to learn new things - Married 3842 years, 2 "kids" (now 34 and 36) and two grands (13 and 15) Born and raised California Girl, with stints in Tennessee, learning to speak Southern, and Arizona, learning that living in a trailer is NOT fun! Enjoy conversations with wine and chocolate, long walks and being with hubby and family. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Personal Ramblings, ~ Read ~. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to January 18, 2011 Read

  1. susanideus says:

    You made me laugh, and I needed that today. Thanks! I’m all in favor of this kind of insanity!

Leave a Reply

