January 10, 2011 Reminiscing


First, Happy 31st Birthday to my Son in Law Adam!

Now, with that, let’s move into one of my favorite topics – remembering, reminiscing, thinking back. I don’t know that this is solely the purview of older people, but maybe it is – after all, we have more years to recollect!

Today I was thinking about my children, since it is Adam’s birthday. My “kids” Rebecca (Becca) and David are 30 (31 in March) and 29 (just, in December) so that they are living their own lives, with little or no input or interaction with Momma and Pop.

Watching my children play was always a great joy to me – and one of my own resolutions for the year is to get all my family pictures organized. (yyssw!) Here, though, is a formal picture taken of my twosome when they were Two and Four…

Ah, those were the days, my friend! 🙂 Another photo, about 20 years ago, at a Halloween Party (why did I just come up with Halloween pictures! GOTTA get those boxes of pictures sorted asap!)

What fun we had. There were the neighborhood Fourth of July parties – the fun trips all over the United States, the hysterical family stories that can STILL make any and all of us crack up. (For instance, all I have to say is “remember Arizona and the roll of film” and my son will laugh insanely for 10 minutes. Guess you had to be there!) We didn’t have video games (heck, we barely had a VCR when my kids were tikes!) and our only computer was a $2000 Apple IIC – slower than molasses in December! No cell phones, so when I wanted to know what neighbor was harboring my children, I had to go door-to-door to find them!

We laughed a lot in those days, and I remember making a notation in my journal the first time Becca cried during a movie (it is a family curse!) and even what the movie was – Baby: Secret of the Lost Legend in 1985 when she was Five! Don’t remember what I had for dinner last night, but I remember that!

I remember listening to “We Sing Silly Songs” on cassette tape in the car as we traveled. Listening? Hell, we sang, loudly and with great vig and vimor! We did a lot of singing in the car – When my two were pre-teens, we would ride in Kerry’s car with at least three of her five kids, to the nearest fast-food joint, singing to the George Michael album Faith! I recently saw Brandy (Kerry’s daughter) at a cookie party at Becca’s, and that was one of the things we both remembered – and oh, how we laughed.

Everest Williams playing hide and go seek

Children at play brings back such spontaneous memories of good times, simplicity, uncomplicated feelings, joy, pleasure and delight. Today, in a most timely way, my best friend Joan’s daughter Lisa sent a picture of her 2-1/2-year old son Everest playing hide and go seek. Oh my, how adorable! He had shouted out to his parents, when he was supposed to be washing his hands, “I in curtain!” and he sure was!

Baby Laura 1953

Play and family times are such treasures to remember Most of us even remember the playtimes of our childhood; the tree fort, the trips to the river, the family stories and legends. It is what makes us as humans so unique and so very, very precious – our ability to collect these special times on film, and in our minds, for later viewing. Even as age robs us of some of our memories, the joy and pleasure of childhood is always there for us to see, in our children, grandchildren and in fact, in watching any child.

The wonder of childhood. I remember it well. And watching my children grow into wonderful adults, with their own memories and own stories, is a special treasure indeed!

About ReaderWoman

Professional reader and researcher for writers - Reviewer and Editor for online book review sites - AVID reader (well, duh!) writer, crafter (sewing, jewelry, fiber art) photographer, herb gardener, love to learn new things - Married 3842 years, 2 "kids" (now 34 and 36) and two grands (13 and 15) Born and raised California Girl, with stints in Tennessee, learning to speak Southern, and Arizona, learning that living in a trailer is NOT fun! Enjoy conversations with wine and chocolate, long walks and being with hubby and family. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January 10, 2011 Reminiscing

  1. Joan Silva says:

    So you found my grandson, Everest’s hiding place entertaining, huh? He thought he was hidden too! Gotta chuckle at that …

Leave a Reply

