January 9, 2011 Renew


I had a planned conversation for my blog today. About how connecting to my roots renews my soul. I will get to that topic  soon. But before I segue into that, I want to send you thither to read the blog of dear friend Susan Ideus – who can probably say what is on everyone’s mind after the Tuscon shootings better than anyone else. Please take the time to read this meaningful post!

http://susanideus.wordpress.com/2011/01/09/speaking-in-purple/

Now, on to our regularly scheduled blog…

One of my rosemary plants (I have 3) has taken a leap into faith. I didn’t notice this right away, as it is not directly in my line of daily sight. It has NOT been pruned or in any way shaped. It just is. It IS what it is… a cross. Definite, unmistakable. Rosemary, as those who love herbs know, is for Remembrance.  For the memorial service of my best friend’s father a few years ago, I provided each guest with a sprig of rosemary from my own plants, a symbol of a fine man, and hopefully, a reminder to remember his life.

Rosemary is one of my favorite herbs – along with lavender. Thinking about this spontaneus eruption of the rosemary’s cross, I naturally think of my parents, my mother in particular. Thinking of her always renews my spirit as she was a remarkable woman. I set up a small memory shelf with items that belonged to my parents, and it encourages me to keep in touch with my need to renew and refresh my life.

Noted in the description of Symbolic Loss : The Ambiguity of Mourning and Memory at Century’s End on Amazon.com – “Historically, many world cultures have linked three disparate phenomena: collective loss; mourning; and the construction of monuments and cultural symbols to represent the loss over time and render it memorable, meaningful, and thereby bearable.”

This memorial shelf helps me be more in touch with my  roots, more in tune with the goodness of my life, and more able to tap into my spiritual core. In today’s fractured world, with our constant disconnect with one another and with our humanity, we need to be grounded as well as free-spirited. For me, renewal is about BOTH remembering and moving forward; I don’t believe we can have one without the other…do you?

Written by my father, to my mother, when he was in the hospital dying

About ReaderWoman

Professional reader and researcher for writers - Reviewer and Editor for online book review sites - AVID reader (well, duh!) writer, crafter (sewing, jewelry, fiber art) photographer, herb gardener, love to learn new things - Married 3842 years, 2 "kids" (now 34 and 36) and two grands (13 and 15) Born and raised California Girl, with stints in Tennessee, learning to speak Southern, and Arizona, learning that living in a trailer is NOT fun! Enjoy conversations with wine and chocolate, long walks and being with hubby and family. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Personal Ramblings, ~ Renew ~. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to January 9, 2011 Renew

  1. Laura Hodge says:

    Lo, I can say nothing more than what you said. Thank you.

  2. Joan Silva says:

    How fascinating that the rosemary decided to grow in such a pattern. How delightful. A nice reminder to take time to have faith.

    And thank you for the reminder of the rosemary that you gave at my father’s funeral. A loving memory and I truly appreciated it.

  3. I am deeply touched by this posting.
    I’ll read the link to the Arizona shootings later. Right now I can’t get them off my mind, but this blog post about remembering our past while looking to the future was just what I needed.
    Thanks for these reminders of who we were, are, and who we can be no matter what.

    • ReaderWoman says:

      How kind, Betty, Thank you. I think as we age we have a tendency to look back,sometimes with regret, without also engaging in the joys of looking forward!

  4. susanideus says:

    Thanks for the link to my post, and for your kind words.

    I also love rosemary. Never have seen it grow like yours, but what a wonderful surprise–and sign of remembrance. Thanks for sharing this moving post. The way you link remembrance and renewal is very inspirational and has given me much to think about.

    • ReaderWoman says:

      Your blog is very inspirational to ME – so I am glad I could return the favor! We have much in common you and I – Methodists that we are, with daughters named Becca! 🙂

Leave a Reply

