January 7, 2011 Recipes


Winter. I don’t know about where my readers are reading this – but we have had cold, fog and rain since before Christmas. I am, FYI, on the Sacramento, CA Delta, in a little riverside mobile home park. So I have been  making comfort- type foods, or foods quickly made so I can dive under my blankets in my recliner with my lapwarmers (aka Dixie and Kadie). Here is a recipe I tried this week that is yummy, quick, and comforting.

 Potato Frittata with Rosemary
4 oz new potatoes cut into thin slices, 1 cup (I used baked potatoes, skinned, that I had leftover!)
1/4 cup chopped onion
1/4 cup sweet pepper, any color
1 cup refrigerated or frozen egg product, thawed – or 4 eggs. (I use eggs I get from a neighbor that are from free-range chickens, with lovely orangey yolks)
1/2 tsp. fresh rosemary, snipped fine. (If you don’t have rosemary growing, make a note to yourself to start a plant this spring. On your porch, on your windowsill, or in your garden.Rosemary is a culinary MUST HAVE) If you don’t have fresh, use 1/4 tsp dried.
dash of salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
1/4 cup shredded swiss (or your favorite shredded combo. I used 1/2 a cup.
Love cheese!)
1. cook potatoes and onions in boiling water together, for 7 minutes. Add pepper.
Cook additional 5 minutes, drain.
2. Whisk eggs, rosemary, salt and pepper together. Set aside.
3. Spray skillet with cooking spray. Put veggies in, in an even layer. Pour egg mixture evenly over them. Cook over med. heat WITHOUT STIRRING for about a minute. Then begin to lift edges of frittata and tilt pan, to let uncooked mixture flows underneath. Continue cooking, and lifting edges until the egg is almost set.
4. Remove skillet from heat, and sprinkle with cheese. Cover. Let stand for 4 minutes until top is set, and cheese is melted. Cut into two wedges, and top with a soupcon of
fresh rosemary. Serves two. Fantastic with a fresh salad, or crusty sourdough.

About ReaderWoman

Professional reader and researcher for writers - Reviewer and Editor for online book review sites - AVID reader (well, duh!) writer, crafter (sewing, jewelry, fiber art) photographer, herb gardener, love to learn new things - Married 3842 years, 2 "kids" (now 34 and 36) and two grands (13 and 15) Born and raised California Girl, with stints in Tennessee, learning to speak Southern, and Arizona, learning that living in a trailer is NOT fun! Enjoy conversations with wine and chocolate, long walks and being with hubby and family. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Personal Ramblings, ~ Recipe ~. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January 7, 2011 Recipes

  1. OHHhhhh, this is killing me. I’m ready to go to bed (10:30) and I just read this recipe and now I want to go back downstairs and fix it and eat it all by myself. Can’t WAIT to try this. I LOVE fritatta’s and often just make them up using leftovers, but I feel that potatoes are always necessary. I have a culinary rosemary bush in my garden.

    • ReaderWoman says:

      You and I are on the way to become fast friends, I can tell! 🙂 Let me know how you like it when you get around to making it!

Leave a Reply

