New Year Non-Resolutions


This will be an interesting undertaking – join me on the mind tour! I am going to try to write a quick blog every day – With a themed approach – each day of the week will be devoted to a particular idea or thought. I hope it will go something like this:

Monday – Readerwoman Reminisces

Tuesday – Readerwoman Reads

Wednesday – Readerwoman Reviews

Thursday – Readerwoman Reacts

Friday – Readerwoman Recipes

Saturday – Readerwoman Relaxations

Sunday – Readerwoman Renews

Today – January 3, 2011. Readerwoman Reminisces!

I had a marvelous lunch with my sister Betty in Fairfield recently. It was a chance for us to touch bases for the last time in 2010, prior to her trip to Arizona for almost two weeks.

Betty and Laura Dec 2010 We talked – as we always do – of what is going on in our lives, and we did what many sisters do; we reminisced! We are 11 years apart in age, so although we have the same set of parents, our memories are different. This time, we talked about my mother’s parents; William and Eva Kline. My grandmother, as with my mother after her, was a woman of good nature and forward thinking ideas. In 1919, when my mother was five, she joined her mother in a walk for Women’s Suffrage! I can trace my roots as a feminist back to that piece of family history – my grandmother and my mother saw no color, no religious barriers, no limitations on self because of gender or sexual preference, no boundaries. Although they were women of their time, they were also well educated (my grandmother was a college graduate, back in the days when women seldom went to college) and a believer in the power of the individual.

My grandfather adored my grandmother, and supported her endeavors both at home, in the parish (he was a Minister) and in the world-at-large. I heard a story this time, from Betty, that I had never heard before…

With two children in college ( University of South Dakota, Vermillion) she took the job of selling door-to-door… UNDERWEAR! The local merchants were irate, the parish was horrified, and my grandfather was actually fired from his job for not “controlling” his wayward wife! Telling this, and other stories, my sister could remember my grandmother’s belly laugh, and her quick wit. I was only 10 when she died, two years after my grandfather died of cancer. Yet as I heard new stories, and rehashed the old gems, I felt closer to my roots than I had in a long time. There is much to be said for tradition and family history. Whether you believe in genetic memory or not, it was (and is!) delightful to feel, however imaginatively, the rush of blood that connects me in a never-ending strand; a Mayflower descendant, the daughter and granddaughter of feminists of strong Christian faith, the love of learning and the value of humor are traits I share, and hopefully pass on. What do YOU feel about your family ties?!

About ReaderWoman

Professional reader and researcher for writers - Reviewer and Editor for online book review sites - AVID reader (well, duh!) writer, crafter (sewing, jewelry, fiber art) photographer, herb gardener, love to learn new things - Married 3842 years, 2 "kids" (now 34 and 36) and two grands (13 and 15) Born and raised California Girl, with stints in Tennessee, learning to speak Southern, and Arizona, learning that living in a trailer is NOT fun! Enjoy conversations with wine and chocolate, long walks and being with hubby and family. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Notes of interest, Personal Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Year Non-Resolutions

  1. What a crazy fun story about a minister’s wife selling underwear door-to-door, and him getting fired for not having control over his spouse. It makes me smile. Our family ties were very different. Neither of my parents graduated from high school, both being forced to quit school to get jobs and help out the family. The outstanding thing I remember is my mother made us go to church and my father said he would never be caught dead in a church. He truly did not know that he’d made a joke. Another strong tie is that we were all story-tellers and loved to make music. We played instruments and sang together a lot. We (my brother, sister, and I) inherited a knack for being creative from our parents. Both were good with their hands and pretty inventive at fixing broken things and making things from scratch. In spite of the fact that my parents had countless problems in their relationship that caused our family to be disrupted constantly, they tried repeatedly to be what others call “normal.” Alas–it was never in the big scheme of things for them to be like other people. I believe that’s why my siblings and I are not boring, so something very good has come out of my family ties.

    • ReaderWoman says:

      I was supremely fortunate in having a fabulous family life as a child. Sounds like your family may have been more the kind to put the “fun” back in dysfunctional! Not always a bad thing – adversity sometimes encourages inner strengths.

Leave a Reply

