Sunday January 2, 2011 Renewal


 

Sundays, to me, have always meant worship, introspection,  family and quiet times. My favorite church, St. Mark’s United Methodist Church, in Sacramento, CA is an hour away… and I don’t get there as often as I would like, or the little voice in my head says I should. But in my ever-evolving spiritual life, I see myself more as a Spiritual Feminist (see the About Me page!) than a full-blooded Christian/Protestant, so I find time to focus on personal growth on the Sundays I don’t participate in organized religion!

How do such practices look in actuality? Something like this:

I settle into a chair, hopefully in a quiet environment, with a cuppa tea and books I am working with in my quest for understanding. Right now I am re-reading Jennifer Louden’s “The Comfort Queen’s Guide to Life – Create All That you need with just what you’ve Got” and have a review book I am finishing up, “The Meaning of Mary Magdalene: Discovering the Woman at the Heart of Christianity” by Cynthia Bourgeault.

I read for an hour or so, usually taking notes or (gasp) writing in the margins if it is my book.  Then I relax into my chair, breathe deeply, and allow my mind off it’s leash, to absorb the reading I have done. I find this vitally important to the process, so that I am centered on the message(s) I have gleaned.

Last, but not least, I write. I write (and think -yipee,  multi-tasking!) about my life in respect to my reading. I think about choices I need to make, and make a conscious effort to let go of the negatives, and the regrets, that keep me from moving forward. Sounds trite, but it works for me!

What about you? Do you take time at least once a week (not necessarily on Sundays!) to read, renew and reflect on your path and purpose? I hope so!

About ReaderWoman

Professional reader and researcher for writers - Reviewer and Editor for online book review sites - AVID reader (well, duh!) writer, crafter (sewing, jewelry, fiber art) photographer, herb gardener, love to learn new things - Married 3842 years, 2 "kids" (now 34 and 36) and two grands (13 and 15) Born and raised California Girl, with stints in Tennessee, learning to speak Southern, and Arizona, learning that living in a trailer is NOT fun! Enjoy conversations with wine and chocolate, long walks and being with hubby and family. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Personal Ramblings, ~ Renew ~. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunday January 2, 2011 Renewal

  1. susanideus says:

    Like you, I identify with the United Methodist Church but don’t participate in organized worship too often. Unlike you, I have not had a regular practice of reflection and private worship. I think I will challenge myself to do so. Thanks for the inspiration, Lo. Happy New Year!

    • ReaderWoman says:

      Even if you only do it an hour a week, it is a great help to living a more balanced life! 🙂 Have a Blessed New Year!

  2. Laura Hodge says:

    Ahhh….Sundays. I, too, come from a background that found me at church on Sundays until I realized that I was not getting what I wanted out of church and began to find my own way to spirituality. It has been a fabulous journey over the years and I have created, used, grown out of/discarded many Sunday rituals, and they all had one thing in common…time to read and contemplate either what I have just read or what direction my life is headed in. I find that with a weekly “checking in” I can stay on course much better than if I just let things float along, hoping to be carried with the current.
    In the last few years my Sunday ritual has usually involved a long walk. I curl up with something pithy to read and then I venture out to mull it over as I wander the streets and washes of Tucson.
    The book of the moment is “The Feminine Face of God” by Sherry Ruth Anderson and Patricia Hopkins. I was going to try to describe the book, but the back cover said it beautifully: “As women enter their sacred garden and learn the art of inner listening, they acquire tools for living, loving, and praying authentically….there are seeds for growth: for creating and sustaining intimacy and love in a new way; for a new understanding of sexuality; for a new vision of family, a family of choice in a community of love.”
    I highly recommend it. (It’s about 20 years old, but timeless in its exploration of women and their new-found sense of feminine spirituality, one that is not as male oriented as the ones we grew up with.)

    • ReaderWoman says:

      Thanks for the book recommendation – love to hear about books I haven’t read, especially those on Religion and Feminine theology! May the New Year bring you joyous experiences in the sacred garden!

Leave a Reply

